Government of India's new policy many areas are open for Tourists that were under restricted zones. Given below is a guide with comprehensive information about the areas in India where travel is restricted. 

 MANIPUR (Protected Area)
Loktak Lake, Imphal, Moirang INA Memorial, Keibul Deer Sanctuary and Waithe Lake.
Authority that can grant a permit: All Indian Missions abroad. All FRROs & MHA State Government of Manipur (Home Commissioner, Manipur)
Remarks: Calcutta to Imphal by air only,*Individual tourists not permitted, 6 days allowed. 

MIZORAM (Protected Area)
Vairangte, Thingdawl and Aizawl
Authority that can grant a permit: Home Commissioner, Government of Mizoram, Aizawl, All FRROs at Delhi, Mumbai and Calcutta, Chief Immigration Officer, Madras and all Indian Missions abroad.
Remarks: Tourist groups may travel on the identified tour circuits only*Individual tourists not permitted, 10 days allowed.

Itanagar, Ziro, Along, Pasighat, Miao, Namdapha and Sujesa (Puki) Bhalukpong.
Authority that can grant permit:Home Commissioner, Government of Arunachal Pradesh, Itanagar,all FRROs at Delhi, Mumbai, Calcutta, Chief Immigration Officer, Madras. All Indian Missions abroad.
Remarks: Tourist groups may travel on identified tour circuits only. *Individual tourists not permitted, 10 days allowed.

 SIKKIM (Partially Protected Area)

(1)Gangtok, Rumtek, Phodang, Pemayangtse Khecheperi & Tashiging
Authority that can grant permit: MHA, all FRROs All Indian Missions abroad, and Immigration Officers at airports at Mumbai, Calcutta, Madras and New Delhi. Chief Secretary/Home Secretary/Secretary (Tourism) Government of Sikkim, Gangtok Inspector General Of Police, Government of Sikkim, Siliguri, Deputy Directors (Tourism), Sikkim Government , New Delhi, Assistant Resident Commissioner; Government of Sikkim, Calcutta, Tourism Officer, Rangpo, Deputy Commissioner, Darjeeling Deputy Secretary/Under Secretary Home Department, Government of West Bengal, Calcutta.
Remarks: PAP Areas: * Individual Tourists permitted, 15 days allowed.

(2) Zongri (West Sikkim)
Authority that can grant a permit: MHA and all issuing authorities of Government of Sikkim and its representatives at Calcutta, Siliguri & Rangpo.
Remarks: Groups allowed for 15 days trekking and are to be accompanied by a liaison officer. Individual tourists not permitted, 16 days allowed.

(3)Tsangu (Chhangu Lake in East Sikkim). Authority that can grant permit: Home Secretary, Government of Sikkim, Gangtok
Remarks:*Individual tourists not permitted. Day visit only.

(4)Mangan, Tong, Singhik, Chungthang, Lachung and Yumthang
Authority that can grant a permit Home Secy., Govt. of Sikkim, Secretary (Tourism), Government of Sikkim.
Remarks: Individual tourists not permitted, 5 days allowed.

KASHMIR (Partially Protected Area)

(1) Khaltse Sub-Division (Drokahpa Area) Khaltse-Dunkhar-Sroduchan Hanudo-Biana-Dha
(2) Nubra Sub Division:
    (a) Leh-Khardung La-Khalsar-Tirit up to Panasik
    (b) Leh-Khardung La-Khalsar up to Hunder
    (c)Leh-Sabo-Digar La-Digar-Labab-Khungru Gampa-Tangar (Only for trekking
        conducted by approved tour operators and accompanied by State Police personnel) 
(3) Nyona Sub Division:
    (a) Leh-Upshi-Chusathang-Mahe-Puga-Tso-Moari Lake/Kozok
    (b) Leh-Upshi-Debring-Puga-Tso-Moari Lake/Korzok
    (c) Leh-Karu-Chang La-Durbuk-Tangtse-Lukung-Spanksik.
    (d) Pangong Lake up to Spanksik
Authority that can grant a permit:MHA / District Magistrates concerned.
Remarks: Tourist groups are to travel on the identified tour circuits only. *Individual tourists not permitted, 7 days allowed.

Note: Groups should consist of 4 to 20 numbers and should be accompanied by a liaison officer. For more information, contact Indian Missions abroad or the Ministry of Tourism, Delhi, India.

Municipal Area, Port Blair, Havelock Island, Long, Neil Island, Jolly Buoy, South and North Cinque, Red Skin, Mayabunder, Diglipur(10) Rangat, Mount Harriet, Madhuban.
Authority that can grant a permit: MHA & All FRROs. All Indian Missions abroad, Immigration Officer, (7) & (8) Port Blair
Remarks: Places for (1) day & night visit allowed. Places for (2) only day. (7) & (8) visit allowed. Places for (8) to (12) only day visit allowed 

HIMACHAL PRADESH (Partially Protected Area)
(1) Poo-Khab-Sumdho-Dhankar-Tabo-Gompa-Kaza
(2) Morang-Dabling
Authority that can grant a permit: MHA /Government of H.P./DM/SDM concerned/lTBP Special. Commissioner (Tourism) Resident Commissioner, Govt. of H.P., New Delhi Director General of Police, H.P. Shimla. 
Remarks: For Trekking only. Individual tourists not permitted. 

UTTAR PRADESH (Partially Protected Area)
(1) Nanda Devi Sanctuary, Niti Ghati and Kalindi Khal in Chamoli, Uttar Kashi Districts(2) Adjoining areas of Milam Glacier
Authority that can grant a permit:(1) MHA/Government of U.P. DM/SDM concerned ATBP (2) MHA/Govt. of U.P./DM/SDM concerned/lTBP
Remarks: Individual tourists not permitted.

NAGALAND (Protected Area)
1. Dimapur District : Dimapur Town, Chumudima Sethikima and all places on the National Highway No. 39 enroute to Kohima Town
2. Kohima District : Kohima Town, Khonoma Dzulakie Kigwema , Jakhama Viswema, Khuzama, Japhfu, Dzuku Valley
3. Mokochong District : Mokochong Town, Lungkhum, Ungma, Impur Mopungohukit, Chuchlyimlang, Tuli, Chani
4. Wokha District: Wokha Town , Doyang , Vankhosand, Tsunki, Governor's Camp and Mount Tlyi. Authority that can grant a Permit: All India missions abroad, MHA, FRRO Delhi, Calcutta and Mumbai, The Chief Officer Immigration Officer Chennai, The Home Commissioner, The State Government of Nagaland, Kohima, Resident Commissioner, the State Government of Nagaland and Kohima.

RAJASTHAN (Partially Protected)
Western Side (upto Indo-Pak border) of NH No.15 running from Sriganganagar to Sanchore via Sriganganagar, Suratgarh, Lunkaransar, Bikaner, Gajner, Kolayat, Phalodi, Khera, RamDevra,Pokaran, Lathi, Jaisalmer,Sangad, Fatehgarh, Sheo, Bhadewa,Kapoordi,Barmer, Hathitala, Sanwara, Lookho, Gandhwa, Dhamuna subject to following exceptions:

(1)The peripheral areas of cities,towns and villages on the NH N0. 15 through which it passes;
(2)The city limits of Suratgarh,Bikaner, Phalodi, Pokaran, Jaisalmer, Barmer and Sanchore;
(3)The following villages and areas of tourist interest in the district of Jaisalmer:Amarsagar,Ludrawa, Kuldara, Bada Bagh(black bar), Akal, Sam & Unda. Authority that can grant a Permit: MHA & DM concerned

Travel Information || Festivals & Fairs || Shopping || Cuisine || Music & Dance || Art || Tourist Restricted Area || Passports and Visas || Weather || FAQ||

Rajasthan|| Kerala || Goa || Taj Mahal || Wildlife Tours || India Hotels || About India || Beaches in India || Honeymoon Tours